You are here

Celebrating good governance

Confetti raining down on the gathering of VIPs, award winners and officials at the finale of the gala event held at Resorts World Convention Centre on July 8.

Lim Soo Hoon (left), chairman, Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority (ACRA), with winners of the Best CEO awards, from left: Kuah Boon Wee, CEO, MTQ Corporation (small-cap); Wolfgang Baier, group CEO, Singapore Post (big-cap); and Ng Chin Siau, group CEO, Q&M Dental Group - Singapore (mid-cap). On the right is John Lim, immediate past chairman, Singapore Institute of Directors, who is chairman of the Best CEO judging panel.

Representing the winners of the Best Managed Board awards, are from left: Sidney Chew, executive chairman & MD, MegaChem (small-cap); Lee Boon Yang, chairman, Keppel Corporation (big-cap); and Rolando Gapud, chairman, Del Monte Pacific (mid-cap).

Julia Tay (left), deputy CEO of ACRA, and Tan Yen Yen, independent director, Singapore Press Holdings, enjoying the programme.

Luigi Vignola, managing director and head investment solutions group & markets Asia, Bank Julius Baer.

David Lim, CEO Singapore, Bank Julius Baer, sponsor of the Singapore Corporate Awards, delivering his speech.

Piyush Gupta, CEO, DBS Group Holdings, and Lee Suet Fern, managing partner, Morgan Lewis Stamford - the co-hosts for the presentation of the Best Managed Board awards.

Co-hosts for the presentation of the Best Chief Executive Officer awards, Chaly Mah, CEO of Deloitte South-east Asia, and Tan Hwee Bin, executive director of WingTai Asia and chairman of NTUC Health Co-operative.

Keeping the programme rolling are emcees Kenneth Yap, CEO of ACRA, and Lynette Leong, CEO of CapitaLand Commercial Trust.

Lim Hwee Hua, chairman of the Securities Investors Association (Singapore).

From left: Melvyn Pun, CEO of Yoma Strategic, with his mother and father Serge Pun, Yoma's chairman. Yoma clinched the silver award for the Best Managed Board for mid-caps.

Tony Chew (left), executive chairman of Asia Resource Corporation, and Loh Chin Hua, CEO of Keppel Corporation.

Jeannie Ong, chief strategic partnerships officer of StarHub, singing a medley of two ABBA songs - I dream a dream and Thank you for the Music.

Corporate veteran J Y Pillay receiving the Distinguished Contribution to Corporate Governance Award from President Tony Tan.

Co-hosts for the presentation of the Best Chief Financial Officer awards R Dhinakaran, vice-president of the Institute of Singapore Chartered Accountants (ISCA) and managing director of Jay Gee Melwani Group, and Junie Foo, co-chair, BoardAgender.

Wolfgang Baier and his wife Nicole, after receiving his Best CEO award (big-cap).

Patrick Daniel, editor-in-chief, English, Malay & Tamil Media Group, Singapore Press Holdings, with winners of the Best Chief Financial Officer awards: (from left) Chan Chee Kin, CFO, Midas Holdings (mid-cap); Arthur Lang, Group CFO, CapitaLand (big-cap) and Francis Yau, CFO, MegaChem (small-cap). On the right is the chairman of the Best Chief Financial Officer judging panel, Ernest Kan.

Tan Tong Hai, CEO of StarHub, talking to other guests at his dinner table.

Richard Eu, Group CEO of Eu Yan Sang International, entertaining the audience with his rendition of Everyday I have the blues. His company won the bronze award for Best Managed Board (mid-cap).

Christopher Borch, CEO of Micro-Mechanics (Holdings), receiving the silver award for Best Investor Relations (small-cap) from Ho Meng Kit, chief executive of the Singapore Business Federation. On the right is co-chairman of the Best Investor Relations judging panel, Alvin Tay.

Co-hosts for the presentation of the Best Annual Report awards - Phillip Forrest, council member, Singapore Institute of Directors, and Amy Ng, CEO of Mapletree Commercial Trust.

Ng Hsueh Ling, CEO of Keppel Reit, which won the gold award for Best Investor Relations for Reits and business trusts.

Thomas Pang, CEO of Keppel Telecommunications & Transportation, with Manohar Khiatani, deputy CEO of Ascendas- Singbridge Group.

Co-hosts for the presentation of the Best Investor Relations awards - Roland Ng, president & group CEO of Tat Hong Holdings, and Christina Teo, CEO of Catpital Pte Ltd.

The three Masketeers waltzing to the Masquerade from The Phantom of the Opera.

Unmasked: the three Masketeers - (from left) Ernest Kan, Alvin Tay and Willie Cheng, co-organisers of the Singapore Corporate Awards.


THE very best of the local corporate governance scene were feted at the 10th annual Singapore Corporate Awards (SCA) on July 8 this year, when multiple-award winners took centre stage at Resorts World Convention Centre to be recognised for their transparency and accountability...

Market voices on: