You are here


Business Singapore's creme de la creme

At the Awards – from left: Patrick Daniel, deputy CEO, Singapore Press Holdings; Stephen Lee, chairman, SBA judging panel; Wu Hsioh Kwang of Straco which won The Enterprise Award; Heinrich Jessen, Businessman of the Year, next to his specially commissioned portrait; guest-of-honour Minister Ong Ye Kung; SIA’s Goh Choon Phong, Outstanding Chief Executive of the Year; Sotheby’s Asia’s Quek Chin Yeow, Outstanding Overseas Executive of the Year; and Ken Lee, CEO of DHL Express Asia-Pacific.

Yasmin A Khan EVP, commercial and managing director, emerging markets, DHL Express Asia Pacific; Warren Fernandez editor-in-chief (English/ Malay/Tamil Media Group), Singapore Press Holdings; and Alvin Tay, managing editor, EMTM Group, SPH.

Ken Lee, CEO, DHL Express Asia-Pacific, delivering his welcome speech.

Frank-Uwe Ungerer, senior vice-president & managing director of DHL Express Singapore.

Wong Wei Kong, chairman of the SBA organising committee and editor of The Business Times, delivering his closing remarks at the SBA gala event.

Guest-of-honour Ong Ye Kung, Minister for Education (Higher Education and Skills) & Second Minister for Defence with Patrick Daniel deputy chief executive, SPH.

JY Pillay, chairman of the Council of Presidential Advisers and founding chairman of Singapore Airlines, with Tan Soo Khoon, chairman of Crystal Times (S) Pte Ltd and Mrs Tan.

Loh Boon Chye, chief executive officer of Singapore Exchange with Bernard Yeung, dean of the NUS Business School.

Melissa Kwee, chief executive officer, National Volunteer & Philanthropy Centre.

Seah Kian Peng, chief executive officer of NTUC Fairprice Co-operative Ltd, with Michael Kok, director, Dairy Farm International.

Wong Li-Lin, deputy director of special projects at Thomson Medical Centre.

Mr and Mrs Heinrich Jessen with the Businessman of the Year trophy. Mr Jessen is the chairman of Jebsen & Jessen (SEA).

Heinrich Jessen, chairman, Jebsen & Jessen (SEA) receives his trophy for the Businessman of the Year award from guest-of-honour Ong Ye Kung, Minister for Education (Higher Education and Skills) & Second Minister for Defence.

Goh Choon Phong, chief executive officer of Singapore Airlines, receiving his trophy for Outstanding Chief Executive of the Year from Stephen Lee, chairman of the SBA judging panel.

Executive chairman of Tecity Group, Chew Gek Khim, a past winner of the Businessman of the Year award (2014) with Peter Seah, chairman of DBS Group Holdings, a past winner of the Outstanding Chief Executive of the Year award (1999).

Wu Hsioh Kwang, founder & executive chairman of Straco Corporation, winner of The Enterprise Award, receiving the trophy from Patrick Daniel, deputy chief executive of Singapore Press Holdings.

Outstanding Overseas Executive Of The Year, Quek Chin Yeow, deputy chairman, Sotheby’s Asia and chairman of international jewellery, Sotheby’s Asia, is presented with his trophy by Ken Lee, CEO, DHL Express Asia-Pacific.

Shafie Shamsuddin, president & CEO of PT Trans Retail Indonesia, a past winner of the Outstanding Chief/Senior Executive (Overseas) of the Year award (2015).

Julian Neo, head of commercial, DHL Express Singapore.

Wee Chow Hou, professor of strategy and marketing, and head of the division of marketing & international business, Nanyang Technological University, Nanyang Business School, with Roland Ng, managing director of Tat Hong Holdings.

Emcee for the gala evening, Margaret Chew, is partner & head, knowledge management team, Allen & Gledhill.

Jennie Chua, chairman of Alexandra Health.

From left: Png Cheong Boon, CEO, JTC Corporation; Andy Lim chairman, Tembusu Partners; Loh Boon Chye, chief executive officer, Singapore Exchange; and Lim Hwee Hua, executive director of Tembusu Partners.

Businessman of the Year Heinrich Jessen with Beh Swan Gin, chairman of the Economic Development Board.

Popular local musicians Jack and Rai, entertaining the dinner audience with their catchy numbers.


SOME of Singapore's eminent leaders and companies were celebrated at the Singapore Business Awards (SBA) last week in a nod to their vision and hard-won success.

Jointly organised by The Business Times and DHL, the SBA is Singapore's most prestigious awards event in the...

BT is now on Telegram!

For daily updates on weekdays and specially selected content for the weekend. Subscribe to