You are here

Opposition parties declare contest areas

SDP's Dr Chee talking to a voter while on a walkabout in Bukit Batok on Sunday. He has expressed interest in contesting the SMC in the next General Election.


THE various opposition parties have declared their intention of contesting several areas in the East and West, and at least two parties - Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) and Singaporeans First - are eyeing Tanjong Pagar GRC.

The Workers' Party (WP) on Sunday said it would contest a total of 28 seats in the next General Election (GE) - five Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs) and five Single Member Constituencies (SMCs). This means they will be fielding five candidates more than the 23 in GE 2011.

Besides contesting in Aljunied GRC, Hougang and Punggol East SMCs that are currently held by WP, party chairman Sylvia Lim said they will field candidates in East Coast, Jalan Besar, Nee Soon and Marine Parade GRCs.

The SMCs the party is eyeing are: Fengshan, MacPherson and Sengkang West.

Separately, Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) secretary-general Chee Soon Juan has expressed interest in contesting Bukit Batok SMC - carved out of Jurong GRC in the new electoral boundaries released on Friday - as they "have been there before".

Four years ago, SDP contested in Holland-Bukit Timah, Bukit Panjang and Yuhua constituencies, which are districts geographically contiguous to Bukit Batok SMC, said Dr Chee.

In 2011, SDP also contested in Sembawang GRC.

Meanwhile, members of new party Singaporeans First and the National Solidarity Party (NSP) were working the ground in Tampines.

The NSP has invited the opposition parties to a meeting on Friday to discuss where they will contest, to avoid three-corner fights.

Singapore People's Party's (SPP) Lina Chiam and members spent Sunday morning in Whampoa meeting residents from Potong Pasir SMC and Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC.

Mrs Chiam has said she would like to contest in Potong Pasir again, having lost the SMC to the People's Action Party's Sitoh Yih Pin in 2011 by 114 votes. SPP had also contested Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC then.

DPP secretary-general Benjamin Pwee on Saturday said the party is eyeing Fengshan SMC, which is making a reappearance on the electoral map after 24 years. The party is also keen on Potong Pasir and Hong Kah North SMCs, as well as Bishan-Toa Payoh and Tanjong Pagar GRCs.