You are here

Leading lights in corporate governance

Gathering for the grand finale of the awards event are guest of honour Ng Chee Meng, Minister, Prime Minister's Office, award winners and organisers of the Singapore Corporate Awards 2018.

Best CFOs (from second left) Ms Lim Cheng Cheng, group chief financial officer, Singtel; Chong Chou Yuen, group chief financial officer, Tuan Sing Holdings; and Kenneth Liew, chief financial officer, Japan Foods Holding. They are flanked by Ong Khiaw Hong (extreme left), chief executive, ACRA; and Shariq Barmaky (extreme right), chairman of the Best CFO Award judging panel and regional managing partner of Deloitte South-east Asia.

Best CEOs (from left) Melvin Teo, group chief executive officer, Yeo Hiap Seng Ltd; Alexander Hungate, president & chief executive Officer, SATS Ltd; and Christopher Borch, chief executive officer, Micro-Mechanics (Holdings) Ltd.

Wong Wei Kong (left), editor, The Business Times and Tham Sai Choy, first vice-chairman of Singapore Institute of Directors.

From left: Guest of honour Ng Chee Meng, Minister, Prime Minister's Office; Euleen Goh, board member, DBS Holdings; and Willie Cheng, chairman, Singapore Institute of Directors. DBS Group was conferred a Special Recognition Award for its ''all-round excellence in corporate governance''.

Kelvin Tan, council member of the Institute of Singapore Chartered Accountants, one of three co-organisers of the Singapore Corporate Awards.

Wee Ee Cheong, deputy chairman, United Overseas Bank Ltd. He collected a trophy under the Best Managed Board (Large Caps) category.

CapitaLand Group's winners (from left): Tony Tan, CEO, CapitaLand Mall Trust Management Ltd; Stephen Lee, board member, CapitaLand Ltd; and Kevin Chee, CEO of CapitaLand Commercial Trust. The group's haul included prizes under the categories for Best Managed Board, Best Annual Report and Best Investor Relations.

Tuan Sing Holdings won three awards. From left are: David Lee, board member; Michelle Liem, board member; and William Liem, chief executive. The company took prizes under the categories of Best CFO, Best Investor Relations and Best Managed Board.

Sembcorp Industries' chief risk officer Stephen Henderson (left) and CEO Neil McGregor. Sembcorp Industries took a gold award for Best Annual Report in the Market Cap of S$1 billion and Above section.

Wong Kok Hoe (left), chairman, Centurion Corporation Ltd, collected a prize for Best Managed Board (Mid Caps); and Takahashi Kenichi, executive chairman and CEO, Japan Foods Holding Ltd, collected a prize for Best Managed Board (Small Caps).

From left: Kwa Chong Seng, chairman, Singapore Exchange; Rachel Eng, partner & deputy chairman, Wong Partnership; and Jacqueline Poh, deputy secretary, Prime Minister's Office Strategy Group.

From far left: Tracey Woon, vice-chairman, Asia-Pacific, Wealth Management, UBS AG; Chua Sock Koong, Group CEO, Singtel; Euleen Goh, chairman, SATS; Junie Foo, chair, BoardAgender and council member, SID; Chng Sok Hui, chief financial officer, DBS Group; Michelle Liem, board member, Tuan Sing Holdings; Dr Melanie Chew, military historian and member of the board, Asia Resource Corporation; Janet Ang, board member, Singapore Press Holdings; and Goh Swee Chen, president, Global Compact Network Singapore and chairperson, Shell Singapore.

Lim Gunawan Hariyanto, executive chairman & CEO, Bumitama Agri Ltd, performed three songs.

Anthony Tan, Deputy CEO, Singapore Press Holdings.

From left: Tan Yen Yen, board member, SPH; Tan Chin Hwee, board member, SPH; Janet Ang, board member, SPH; and Warren Fernandez, editor-in-chief, EMTM Group, SPH.

Emcee-hosts for the evening Junie Foo, chair of BoardAgender and council member of the Singapore Institute of Directors, and Adrian Chan, head of the Corporate Department and a senior partner at Lee & Lee.

Loh Hoon Sun, Senior Advisor, Phillip Securities Pte Ltd; and Patricia Enslow, managing director, chief marketing officer, Credit Suisse Asia Pacific.

From left: Anna Lysenko, Indochine Group; Associate Professor Chan Yoke Kai, council member, ISCA; and Michael Ma, CEO, Indochine Group.

Ron Sim, founder and chairman, V3 Group Ltd; and Mrs Lim Hwee Hua, executive director, Tembusu Partners Pte Ltd.

RESORTS World Sentosa was the venue of several coronations on July 18 this year, with the Who's Who of the local business scene showing up for the prestigious 13th annual Singapore Corporate Awards.

The very best in corporate governance and shareholder communication were feted that night...

BT is now on Telegram!

For daily updates on weekdays and specially selected content for the weekend. Subscribe to