Tharman reappointed as chairman of MAS, Ravi Menon as MD

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Finance, Tharman Shanmugaratnam, has been reappointed as chairman of the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) Board of Directors for a further term of three years, with effect from June 1, 2015.

The central bank on Thursday added that Ravi Menon, managing director of MAS, has been reappointed both as managing director and as member of the board for a further term of two years.

Other reappointments include Heng Swee Keat, Minister for Education; Lawrence Wong, Minister for Culture, Community and Youth and Second Minister for Communications and Information; and Quek See Tiat, chairman of the Building and Construction Authority: they will serve as members of the MAS board for a further term of three years.

As of June 1, 2015, MAS's 10-member board comprises:

Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam (Chairman)

Deputy Prime Minister;

Minister for Finance

Mr Lim Hng Kiang (Deputy Chairman)

Minister for Trade and Industry

Mr Heng Swee Keat

Minister for Education

Mr Lawrence Wong Shyun Tsai

Minister for Culture, Community and Youth;

Second Minister for Communications and Information

Mr Quek See Tiat

Chairman, Building and Construction Authority

Mr Lim Chee Onn

Senior International Advisor, Singbridge Private Limited

Mr Peter Ong Boon Kwee

Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance

Professor Tan Chorh Chuan

President, National University of Singapore

Mr V K Rajah


Mr Ravi Menon

Managing Director, MAS


BT is now on Telegram!

For daily updates on weekdays and specially selected content for the weekend. Subscribe to