You are here

All 7 WP MPs to defend their seats at GE: Sylvia Lim

ALL seven elected members of parliament in the Workers' Party (WP) will defend their respective constituencies at the upcoming general election (GE), the opposition party's chairman Sylvia Lim said on Sunday.

The five-member Aljunied GRC team comprises Ms Lim, WP secretary-general Low Thia Khiang, Chen Show Mao, Pritam Singh and Muhamad Faisal Abdul Manap. At the last GE in May 2011, they defeated the People's Action Party's (PAP) team led by then-Foreign Minister George Yeo.

Png Eng Huat and Lee Li Lian, the MPs for the Hougang and Punggol East single seat ward respectively, will also stay on.

Speaking to reporters at Chong Pang Market and Food Centre in Yishun, Ms Lim described the WP's experience over the last four years as "fulfilling but challenging".

"We've been inspired by the residents' support and it will be meaningful for us to keep the mandate to continue our work here. We know the residents have stuck by us," she said. "Singaporeans have already shown a desire for elected opposition (MPs) and we must continue to give Singapore credible choices."

Your feedback is important to us

Tell us what you think. Email us at

The PAP has so far only confirmed that 44-year-old grassroots leader Lee Hong Chuang will be its candidate for Hougang. The ruling party is likely to field deputy speaker of parliament Charles Chong in Punggol East, while the Aljunied team is expected to comprise Victor Lye, Chua Eng Leong, Chan Hui Yeh, K Muralidharan Pillai and Shamsul Kamar.

BT is now on Telegram!

For daily updates on weekdays and specially selected content for the weekend. Subscribe to