You are here

GE2020: NSP to contest PAP in Sembawang GRC

The NSP team contesting Sembawang GRC.

Education minister Ong Ye Kung, who is helming the PAP team for Sembawang GRC.

THE National Solidarity Party (NSP) will face off again with the People’s Action Party (PAP) in Sembawang GRC, as it did back in the 2015 General Election.  

The NSP team is led by the party’s secretary-general Spencer Ng, and comprises businessman Ivan Yeo Tiong Boon, consultancy firm managing director Sebastian Teo, business development director Yadzeth Hairis and business owner Sathin Ravindran. Both Mr Ng and Mr Yadzath were part of NSP’s team in 2015 that contested Sembawang GRC.

The incumbent PAP team comprises Minister of Education Mr Ong Ye Kung, lawyer Vikram Nair, ophthalmologist Lim Wee Kiak, and first-time candidates Mariam Jaafar and Poh Li San.

Ms Mariam is the Singapore managing director and a partner at the Boston Consulting Group, while Ms Poh is Changi Airport Group’s vice-president for Terminal 5 Planning and a former helicopter pilot in the Republic of Singapore Air Force. 

They are replacing transport minister Khaw Boon Wan, who is retiring from politics, and Amrin Amin, who is being fielded in Sengkang GRC.

Your feedback is important to us

Tell us what you think. Email us at

Speaking to reporters after the Nomination Day proceedings, Mr Ong said that his team is "no longer a boy band", and sports a diverse mix of professionals.

When asked about key issues of focus he said: "The issue today before all of us is Covid-19. And as explained in the manifesto… we expect it to continue, one year, two years, until a vaccine is found." He added that there is a strong need for long-term plans. 

Mr Ong announced that the team will be conducting an online rally at 10am on Sunday (July 5), and will subsequently organise a Zoom dialogue.

Mr Ng of NSP, meanwhile, said during his speech addressing supporters: "(The election) is the best opportunity for us to choose a better and stronger government for us to have our voices represented. Sembawang GRC voters, you may be thinking if you should cast your vote for the NSP. Let me tell you, we are the voice in you, that has been telling you all along, change is a must."

The PAP beat the NSP at the 2015 polls in Sembawang, winning 72.28 per cent of the vote. The other members of the NSP team that year were Abdul Rasheed, Eugene Yeo and Kevryn Lim.

For Nomination Day developments and more on Singapore GE2020, go to

BT is now on Telegram!

For daily updates on weekdays and specially selected content for the weekend. Subscribe to