You are here

GE2020: PAP holds on to Marine Parade with 57.76% of votes as vote share slips

The PAP team for Marine Parade GRC arriving at the nomination centre at Kong Hwa School on June 30. The team comprises Seah Kian Peng, Edwin Tong, Tan See Leng, Mohd Fahmi Aliman and Tan Chuan-Jin.

The People's Action Party (PAP) held on to Marine Parade GRC, beating the Workers' Party (WP) by pulling in 57.76 per cent of the vote. In the last GE in 2015, the PAP also took on WP in Marine Parade, winning with 64.07 per cent of the vote.

There were 129,843 votes cast in all, of which 74,993 went to the PAP and 54,850 went to WP, while 1,787 were spoilt votes. WP garnered 42.24 per cent of the total vote.  

The team which won the five-seat GRC included Speaker of Parliament Tan Chuan-Jin, Senior Minister of State Edwin Tong and NTUC Enterprise’s group chief executive officer Seah Kian Peng. Meanwhile, joining the team this year were former chief executive of IHH Healthcare Dr Tan See Leng and new face Mohd Fahmi bin Aliman, who is a National Trades Union Congress (NTUC) director.

This year saw Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong, who has served as a Member of Parliament (MP) for Marine Parade since 1976, retiring. Professor Fatimah Lateef also stepped down as an MP for Marine Parade.

Meanwhile, the WP team that took on the incumbent included Yee Jenn Jong - who also contested in Marine Parade in the 2015 election - Ron Tan, lawyer Muhammad Fadli bin Mohammed Fawzi, Muhammad Azhar bin Abdul Latip and IT professional Nathaniel Koh.

Your feedback is important to us

Tell us what you think. Email us at

The last GE in 2015 saw PAP polling 64.07 per cent of the vote in Marine Parade against the WP. The PAP faced a tougher fight back in 2011 when it won 56.7 of the vote - a smaller-than-expected margin - in a face off with the National Solidarity Party.

For more of our Singapore GE2020 coverage, go to

BT is now on Telegram!

For daily updates on weekdays and specially selected content for the weekend. Subscribe to