You are here

GE2020: PAP takes 74.03% of votes for Radin Mas SMC

Radin Mas SMC.jpg
Polling station at 13 Telok Blangah Crescent in Radin Mas SMC. PAP's Mr Yong won 16,834 votes.

THE People’s Action Party's Melvin Yong retained the single member constituency (SMC) of Radin Mas for the party, after securing 74.03 per cent of the votes in the final tally.

The winning margin this round narrowed slightly from the 77.3 per cent that PAP’s Sam Tan, 61, had garnered during the 2015 elections.

Mr Yong, 48, who takes over from the retired Mr Tan, won 16,834 votes; Reform Party’s Kumar Appavoo had 5,905 votes, or 25.97 per cent.

The number of rejected votes totalled 817.

The ward - which saw 23,556 votes cast - was held by Mr Tan ever since it was carved out from Tanjong Pagar GRC in 2011.

Your feedback is important to us

Tell us what you think. Email us at

Mr Appavoo, 51, a director in an oil and gas company, had also contested in Radin Mas at the 2015 election. During the three-cornered fight then, he had garnered 12.7 per cent of the vote, while independent candidate Han Hui Hui had 10.4 per cent.

Radin Mas SMC was first formed in 1976. It then joined Tiong Bahru GRC in 1988 and later Tanjong Pagar GRC.

The constituency did not see any changes when the electoral boundaries were redrawn for GE2020.

For more of our Singapore GE2020 coverage, go to

BT is now on Telegram!

For daily updates on weekdays and specially selected content for the weekend. Subscribe to