You are here

Japan extends state of emergency to 7 more prefectures

The expanded state of emergency will include Osaka, Kyoto, Hyogo, Fukuoka, Aichi, Gifu and Tochigi prefectures.


JAPAN extended a state of emergency declared for the Tokyo area last week to seven more prefectures on Wednesday amid a steady rise in Covid-19 cases, while a survey by public broadcaster NHK showed most people want to cancel or delay the Summer Olympics.

The move comes after...

BT is now on Telegram!

For daily updates on weekdays and specially selected content for the weekend. Subscribe to