You are here

MTI announces board changes at EDB, A*Star

THE Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) on Thursday announced board changes at the Singapore Economic Development Board (EDB) and the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*Star).

These appointments will take effect from Feb 1.

At EDB, four new members have been appointed to the board. They are Chaly Mah Chee Kheong, chairman of Deloitte Singapore; Stefan Doboczky, member of the Royal DSM's managing board; Arunjai Mittal, member of Infineon Technologies AG's management board; and Detlef Trefzger, chief executive officer of Kuehne+Nagel International AG.

Four board members have been re-appointed at EDB. They are Tan Pheng Hock, president and CEO at Singapore Technologies Engineering; Vinod Kumar, managing director and group CEO of Tata Communications; Harish Manwani, independent director and former chief operating officer of Unilever; as well as Mar Nelson, president of Chevron International Products, Chevron International.

Market voices on:

The following EDB board members will be stepping down upon the completion of their terms on Jan 31: Gautam Banerjee, senior managing director and co-chairman of the Asia Operating Committee at Blackstone Group; Lothar Herrmann, president & CEO at Siemens Greater China; Gregory Lee, president and CEO of Samsung Telecommunications (America) and Samsung Electronics; and Toru Shimada, executive vice-president and representative director at Rakuten.

At A*Star, MTI has appointed Chong Tow Chong, provost at the Singapore University of Technology and Design, to the board.

MTI has re-appointed 11 board members at A*Star, namely Tan Chorh Chuan, Bertil Andersson, Yitzhak Ben-Israel, Bruce Brown, Jonathan Knowles, Keith O'Nions, John O'Reilly, Ong Boon Hwee, George Radda, Sun Shih-Wei and Tadataka Yamada.

The following A*Star board members will be stepping down upon the completion of their terms on Jan 31: Patrick Vallance, president of Pharmaceuticals R&D at GlaxoSmithKline; Tan Eng Chye, deputy president (Academic Affairs) and provost, at the National University of Singapore; Ng Wai Choong, deputy secretary (Policy) at the Ministry of Finance; and Andrew Tan, chief executive of the Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore.

MTI said in a statement that it thanks all the members stepping down from the boards for their service.