Nine nominated to fill NMP vacancies, including four returning ones

NINE individuals have been nominated by the Special Select Committee to be appointed as Nominated Members of Parliament (NMPs), including four who also served in the previous term.

They are: Azmoon Bin Ahmad, Chia Yong Yong, Thomas Chua Kee Seng, Ganesh Rajaram, Kok Heng Leun, Kuik Shiao-Yin, Mahdev Mohan, Randolph Tan Gee Kwang and K Thanaletchimi.

Said Halimah Yacob, chairman of the committee and Speaker of Parliament: "The Select Committee had deliberated very carefully on all the candidates, including the four ex-NMPs who are re-offering their services. We are satisfied that these nine nominees have fulfilled the constitutional requirement by distinguishing themselves through their contributions to society or in their respective fields."

"As Singapore navigates a much more challenging economic and social environment, we are confident that they will add colour to and elevate the quality of debate in Parliament," she added.

Leader of the House Grace Fu said that the task of selecting the nine was a difficult one. "Besides their individual qualities, the candidates were selected bearing in mind the issues that we will discuss in this Parliament session - including economic transformation and skills training framework, development of the media and art sectors, changes to the Constitution and building a caring and resilient society," she said.

BT is now on Telegram!

For daily updates on weekdays and specially selected content for the weekend. Subscribe to