Google to delete inactive accounts starting December
ALPHABET’S Google on Tuesday (May 16) said it would delete accounts that had remained unused for two years starting December, in a bid to prevent security threats including hacks.
The company said that if a Google account had not been used or signed into for at least two years, it might delete the account and content across Google Workspace, which includes Gmail, Docs, Drive, Meet and Calendar as well as YouTube and Google Photos.
The policy change only applies to personal Google Accounts and not to those for organisations like schools or businesses.
In 2020, Google had said it would remove content stored in an inactive account, but not delete the account itself.
Starting from Tuesday, Google will send multiple notifications to the account email address and recovery mail of the inactive accounts before deletion.
Last week, Elon Musk said Twitter would remove accounts that have been inactive for several years and archive them, saying that the action is “important to free up abandoned handles”. REUTERS
Decoding Asia newsletter: your guide to navigating Asia in a new global order. Sign up here to get Decoding Asia newsletter. Delivered to your inbox. Free.
Share with us your feedback on BT's products and services
TRENDING NOW
MAS allocates S$1.45 billion to five asset managers in third EQDP batch: Chee Hong Tat
‘My grandfather’s legacy’: Sherman Kwek lays out three-year plan for CDL to drive returns
‘How many will survive?’: Bubble fears arise as China’s humanoid robotics face reality check
CDL to hire dedicated CEO for fund management as it steps up push into private funds