You are here


Trump adds North Korea, Venezuela to travel ban

New curbs also impact travel from other countries - Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Yemen and Chad; Sudan gets dropped from earlier list

New parts of the limits will take effect on Oct 18, a grace period that may prevent the kind of confusion seen at airports in the US and abroad after the initial iteration of the travel ban took effect immediately.


US President Donald Trump restricted or suspended travel to the US from eight countries, adding North Korea and Venezuela, while subtracting Sudan, from his earlier ban on travellers from six Muslim-majority nations.

"I must act to protect the security and interests of...

BT is now on Telegram!

For daily updates on weekdays and specially selected content for the weekend. Subscribe to